Trying to ‘Cooldown’

Despite the fact that the thermometer is expected to reach into the 90’s this week, I finished a new sweater that I will be wearing any chance I get. I’m hoping for a least some cool evenings!

The pattern is appropriately named Cooldown by Alicia Plummer.

I really love how Alicia’s patterns are basic knits with a clean and simple style. This makes them some of the most wearable knits, I think.  For this pattern in particular, I absolutely love the classic baseball tee style and of course picking the color combinations is extremely fun but left me with a tough choice.  I finally landed with Bayside and Starboard. But contemplated High Tide with Seagrass, Driftwood with Anchor, Oyster and Beach, and a few others, too!

Ravelry Project Here
Size Made: Small
Yarn: Nice & Knit DK – Bayside (Main Body: 3 Skeins) and Starboard (Sleeves: 2 Skeins)

I’m so thrilled with this project that only a few hours after completing it, I cast on to make another in a different color combo. I really love it that much! I’m worked the sleeves first and have both done, so I’m onto the main body! I modified it slightly by completely skipping the waist shaping (just a personal preference) and I picked up around the neck in the contrasting sleeve color instead of the main body color. I also worked the neckline in a 1×1 rib instead of an icord edging.  My next combo will feature Oyster for the main body and Beach for the sleeves – a perfect “grellow” combination. Hopefully I’ll be sharing that soon, too!

8 Comments on “Trying to ‘Cooldown’

  1. Looks good. It’s in the 90s here in New Orleans for three months out of the year. I would have to put it away until the end of October. Hope you get to wear it soon!

Leave a Comment!

