Fancy Tiger Crafts: Sailor Top

702A1433

I purchased a sewing machine this April with my birthday gift cards from Amazon.  I did some quick research and found some happy reviews on the Singer Fashion Mate.  It doesn’t disappoint!   I admit, I am certainly no expert, and a beginner at best, but I love it.  I didn’t think I was capable of sewing a straight line, but I am delighted to report, I can!  I follow Fancy Tiger Crafts on Instagram – a really great fabric and yarn shop in Denver CO.  I loved their wildly popular Sailor Top the moment I saw it, and ordered the pattern.  Quickie shipping and I was cutting out this cute fabric.

702A1603

A very helpful video is available from Creative Bug (another awesome site for everything crafty).  I did purchase the tutorial and i’m so thankful that I did.  Its a great help!
Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 2.28.12 AMImage by Fancy Tiger Crafts

sailorstuff

I chose to use a lawn fabric by designer Rashida Coleman-Hale, which I purchased at Quilting by the Yard in Vernon CT.  The fabric is so light and airy in this summer weather we’ve had!  I have found that quite similar to knitting there are things I would change about the finished product, but I wear it basically everyday.  I have sewn a few more since, and my oldest smiling told me yesterday, “I’m so glad you made another one, I don’t have to see the pink one everyday!”  Gotta’ love teenagers!

edited

6 Comments on “Fancy Tiger Crafts: Sailor Top

  1. Your sailor top came out beautiful! Love the fabric you chose too. I have been eyeing this since I first saw Fancy Tiger Crafts post it. Your project has inspired me to make one. I have only sewn tote bags and a mini quilt made out of a jelly roll. Heading out of my comfort zone :))

Leave a Comment!

