Red Beet Ravioli

This is yummy – really yummy.  Red Beet Ravioli is an appetizer I used to get at a phenomenal local Italian restaurant.  The restaurant focuses on fresh, seasonal fare so this was eventually rotated off the menu and I was left to try and figure out how to make it myself at home.  I think I succeeded in creating something I love just as much.

It simple, light and looks a whole lot fancier than it is!  Another plus is that it can be made ahead of time and then assembled right before you’re ready to serve it.

You’ll need some pretty basic ingredients:
Goat cheese, or chévre.

Beets. These have been boiled until tender and then the skin removed.

+ some sour cream, walnuts and balsamic syrup.

Red Beet Ravioli Recipe

Ingredients:
4-6  Medium sized Beets
1/2 cup Goat Cheese (Chévre)
1 cup Sour Cream
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped coarsely
1/4 cup Balsamic Syrup (Take one cup sugar and 1 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar and boil until reduced by half)

Directions:
Boil the beets in a medium sauce pan until tender. When cool, peel and slice thinly.

In a small bowl combine goat cheese and sour cream until smooth.

Pick out a super cute plate handmade by your sister Betsy.  Oh, you don’t have a sister Betsy? Ok, well then you can make your own. My sister Betsy will even tell you how. Check it out.

Layer single slices of beet on the plate. Then place 1 Tbsp. of your goat cheese & sour cream mixture on top of the beet and layer another slice of beet on top.  It’ll look something like this

Top the beets with the coarsely chopped walnuts (or any nut) and drizzle with balsamic syrup.  The nuts are necessary for a little crunchy texture and the balsamic syrup provides a sweet tang that finishes these nicely.

Then eat them all…by yourself, go ahead, no one is looking.

They’re so light you won’t even feel guilty!

This recipe should make at least 12 -14 raviolis. I don’t have a precise number because I only made 4 and then put everything back in the fridge so I can eat them tomorrow, and maybe the day after, and the day after that.

I finished my secret project I had been working on, so coming soon I’ll have a big reveal!

20 Comments on “Red Beet Ravioli

  1. I got to eat these for the first time @ your house, Kara. So good! (And I’m anxious to see that pattern; it looks beautiful in the preview photo!!!)

  2. Looks fantastic and fancy! I’ll have to try these soon. Question: How do you eat them without making an absolute mess?

    • Well, they are a wee bit messy but if you use small enough beets, you could serve them as a single bite which will reduce the mess. Otherwise it works well to cut into them with a sharp knife. Another thing that might help is making sure everything is super cold – the beets and the filling so that it stands up better. The goat cheese helps to thicken the sour cream too. I have thought of also adding just a tad cream cheese to thicken the filling so it’s not messy but didn’t want to add anymore calories! Let me know what you think if you make them!

  3. Pingback: Beetroot and Cream Cheese Towers « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Comment!

